Skip to content

100 reps

September 8, 2010

An ‘easy’ route to enhanced personal fitness and a partial compensation for the deficit of NEPA (non-exercise physical activity) in the daily lives of many of us.  Our grandparents chopped wood, washed clothes by hand (or hand-mangle), walked a lot, they even used a typewriter if they typed at all.  If you need more NEPA, read on …

If you want to join an online community that will give you motivation to start or maintain a healthy exercise practice, check out the 100 reps site launched by my kettlebells teacher Rannoch Donald of Simple Strength.The idea is simple. Every day you do 100 repetitions of something that gets your body moving. Hard or easy, it’s up to you to set the limits. Everything from 100 purposeful breaths to pushing a car 100 yards – you decide! Might be a good way to deal with the onset of autumn, especially if you suffer from ‘winter blues’, as I do. See web site and facebook group. Don’t worry about all the boxers and mixed martial artists – they’re lovely people – and there’s plenty of desk jockeys like me too … 😉

Let me know how you get on. What do you do to keep yourself fit, for business, and for life?

http://www.100repchallenge.com/

 The numbers add up pretty quickly. Call it 100 days to Christmas if you like. That is 10,000 reps at 100 a day (over and above all your other activity)!

On an individual basis, I know that I am looking forward to having another 36,500 reps under my feet by this time next year, along with a load of other practice. And, looking back, I can remember years when I did none. I know which makes me happier, more fulfilled, and more productive.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

